Random Question!

Question #100 according to http://www.cfcl.com/vlb/Memes/Questionaires/random_1.html

What inspires you?

It really depends.

Hmm… Well, a bunch of things inspire me. Movies, TV shows, books, life, nature, pictures, sometimes even history… I don’t know what else is inspiring.

Well, a long time ago, when I was nine, I do remember a particular dream that set that spark in my head. It was a dream where I was a princess living in a tower. I wasn’t some average girly princess like in Disney movies (please, no), but I was a princess with magical powers. I don’t know where my parents or my sister were, so it was kind of lonely. It was a lot of fun though. That tower was powered by imagination, where the sky was the limit–actually, the tower was so tall, it went beyond the earth’s atmosphere and into outer space! Every room you can imagine was in that tower.

The second I woke up, I created that dream into some role-playing game that I let my little sister play with me. We’ve had so many magical adventures, fights, and tragedies.

I even made up a part where my sister had a twin brother. The two of them were the closest siblings you could ever imagine, but one day, when my sister stopped playing with me, I got upset and messed things up for “her twin brother”.

I made him lose an eye and an arm, but eventually, after some thought, I let him bionic replacements. He became the commander of a military when he was 10, after his considerable contributions to ending the war of a kingdom.

Sorry, I’m ranting. Back to the question?

A lot of what I write (stories that I never finish writing but finish thinking about) seem to end tragically or something like that. The way I write is kind of tragic as well. I just like tragic things–in a way, I feel they’re more realistic than fairy tale stories and better than life stories that feature all the happiness (don’t get me wrong, I write about things like that too). Stories that have siblings ripped apart, hearts broken, lives torn, wars created, forbidden love, death traps, haunting ghosts, murderers who are secretly kind, doing evil for the good–those are the types of stories I write. I also like opposing ideas (I think that’s what it’s called?), like with the kind murderer, evil for good, and secretly good type of thing. It’s also fun when you develop a character and make them rise through all their pain and faults and occasionally make them fall down in a deeper pit anyway yet grow stronger–I guess I relate better to characters like that.

Leave a Reply

