Quotes

“When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up, I wrote down ‘happy’. They told me I didn’t understand the assignment, and I told them they didn’t understand life.”                               ~John Lennon

I didn’t know what to write about (seriously, I need ideas…), but I found a quote online and really liked this one.

When you think about this in the teacher’s point of view, you agree with them. They’re asking what you want as a job. Being happy just means enjoying life, doing anything that ranges to diving in a dumpster (if you’re into that) to having your dream job.

When you think of it deeper, you could really see the meaning behind it. Anything you do in life–absolutely anything–is completely fine as long as you’re happy and the best at it. One of my teachers said that her father said to her, “I don’t care what you do when you grow up. I don’t even care if you’re a waitress! As long as you’re the best darn waitress there is in the world.”

To me, it doesn’t matter what I want to be when I grow up as long as I’m happy. I don’t want to be a doctor or a teacher or a carpenter (wow, that option was completely random) if I’m not happy. Why would I? Every single day of my life would be dreadful. Just opening my eyes would be tiring and gloomy.

What you are when you grow up will never matter as long as you’re happy.

One thought on “Quotes

  1. Very well said and although i have the inclination to shred to pieces each and every platitude contained in lollipop style Quotes, i am truly Impressed with this one!
    I absolutely agree, i wish i had known it many years back and let it influence my life.
    Of course …would i have known HOW to make myself happy? Lol!
    but thats another question…
    I hope You do, you already have the sense of it, are meditating on it
    and fortunately you have time to work on it and build the foundation now
    for a happy life and future! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

