Overweight (part 2)

I devised a point system. I searched for some workout I made in freshman year. Said that was +1. Said losing one pound was +2. Gaining one pound was -3. And so on and so forth.

I admit there were doubts. Always.

I remember my legs burning. I remember my uneven breaths. I remember turning on my room’s fan and a portable fan I bought on vacation. I remember needing two or three cups of water for that one freshman workout that took me 10 minutes but 7 minutes in freshman year.

But then I continued.

Then the pain subsided. Then I didn’t need to turn on the extra fan. Then I needed half a cup. Then I did the workout in as little as 3 minutes.

But the doubt was still there.

Impossible.

That single word drove me nuts. So I made a goal within my point system. Told myself to reach “x” amount of points to get a video game.

But the doubt. The impossible still lingered in my mind.

Then I thought back to who I used to be. The me that was worse.

Very overweight. Pimply. I couldn’t stretch at all.

Then it was karate. Then I had a sensei who believed. Who said I could do it. Who said it’s possible.

I remember myself basically rolling back and forth. I couldn’t do sit-ups. I couldn’t plant my feet down on the ground like that.

Sensei held them for me.

I did extra practice before going to sleep.

We would do stretches, doing splits almost to the ground and doing kicks aimed at our sensei’s head.

I believed it’s possible. I said it’s possible.

And it was.

I got ten points in one day after thinking about that. Then I thought of the elliptical my family doesn’t use. Resistance 1, then 2, then I said 3, but pushed myself at 4. 15 minutes, 20 minutes, 25, 30, 45, one whole hour nonstop.

It was working. I was improving because it’s possible. My mom and dad watched in amazement as I made healthier food choices and exercised, but they were even more shocked that I kept a regular schedule to exercise. But the biggest thing that surprised them?

Since sixth grade, I weighed the same weight – then sophomore year hit, and the numbers rose. Then the summer before senior year, it began to drop… and continue to drop. It was the first time that had ever happened to me since… well, ever. In karate, I just thinned out and got taller and stronger, but with the growth stopping now, I’m just dropping weight.

Slowly, I tell myself. Don’t overdo it. You’ve done it already. You’re almost at your freshman weight. Congrats – never forget to praise yourself and give rewards but don’t overdo that either. You did it. You know why?

Everything is possible.

And don’t let anyone else tell you otherwise.

Leave a Reply

