Writing a Novel in 2 Weeks?!? 😵

About two weeks ago, I set up a challenge for myself to write an entire novel (at least 50000 words) in 2 weeks, starting on June 29th and ending on July 13th. Isn’t that crazy? What the heck was I thinking?

Thankfully, I was able to finish writing the entire thing… writing over 8000 words on the last night… and writing over 54000 words total. And, yes, by writing, I mean typing. 😆

Anyways, take a look at the feature picture I used here, and here it is again in case you didn’t see it:

Princess

This picture is based on one of the main characters I made for the novel I wrote, and honestly, the whole thing needs a lot of work in it. But, as a lot of people (who I don’t know and probably shouldn’t believe a lot, but I use them as credentials anyway) say (not really, I don’t hear them), “The first manuscript is the worst manuscript.”

And it should never be given to an editor because it will likely be rejected. And that it should be revised about two times before sending it off into the world. And that it is an example of how you can be better by revising it.

But I’m sharing the story titled The Princess Without a Heart (and, of course, I might change that, but for now I’m keeping it that way) I wrote anyway.

Of course, I’m adding, deleting, fixing, and editing along the way where I’ll post here: https://www.wattpad.com/story/116232143-the-princess-without-a-heart/parts

BUT!!! AND THIS IS A BIG BUT, SO LISTEN UP:

There may be spoilers, so you don’t have to read through this, but I would definitely read a summary of the story and the first bullet.

  • this isn’t a kids’ story
  • this touches on a serious issue, actually several issues, including but not limited to:
    • manipulation, especially politically
    • rape
    • PTSD
    • murder
    • violence
    • abusive relationships
    • psychological issues
  • these are all issues I am serious about and believe the world doesn’t seem to recognize much, so one of the challenges for me was to refer to these issues without naming them (except probably the murder part) since the world sometimes opts out of blatantly calling the issue what it actually is
  • it was supposed to be a romance story, but the strength of the issues I feel serious about sort of bled into the story
  • the featured image isn’t alluding to burning someone alive, or burning those in charge, or burning a woman
    • it’s about how even a person supposedly in charge, including a princess, feels about how she was raped
  • I don’t intend to insult anyone or downplay anyone’s issues or how they handle problems – everyone is different about the way they react/act about serious problems
  • some of the characters are based on real people and real events, especially the princess
  • and, of course, I apologize if you thought the story was offensive but that I did not intend for the story to offend anyone

 

Wow. This post just became serious. I didn’t know that would happen. Anyways, sorry for the late post, and hopefully I’ll be inspired to write some other posts. 😁

Leave a Reply

